What's your Type? | The YogaTherapies guide to determining your dosha

In Yoga and Ayurveda, the body is described as the 5 elements collected in human form.

The 5 elements combine to form the three primary Doshas;

  1. Earth + Water = Kapha.

  2. A little water + Fire = Pitta.

  3. Wind + Space = Vata.

Each individual is born with a unique balance of the three Doshas which is termed the individuals prakriti, or material construction.

Throughout our lives this natural constitution is challenged by our inner and outer environments leading to varying imbalances or vikriti. Vikriti works on the premise that like attracts like, and so someone who has a dominance of pitta dosha will tend towards behaviours, relationships and meals that reinforce that pitta dominance. Treatment then, occurs by working to increase the opposing dosha to restore balance.

Take the Dosha Quiz,

For each statement below allocate 1 point to the answer that best describes you. If two are equally applicable then allocate 1 point to each. At the end, tally up the score per column leaving you with three totals at the bottom.

Screenshot 2019-09-01 at 17.07.30.png

So, what does it mean?

Once you have the total scores for each of the columns above you can determine your prakriti.

The first column represents vata, the second pitta and the third kapha.

If one is much higher than the other two, then you are a single dosha type. More commonly, two columns will be comparable resulting in a bi-doshic type. A bi-doshic prakriti doesn’t end up as a blend of the two, but rather elements from each will be present in your overall typology. It may be that you have the mental qualities of one dosha yet the physical qualities of another, or a more complex blend.

If your scores for each dosha are equal you are ‘tri-doshic’. This type is rarest of the three and is considered a real boon as it promises a very robust constitution (although of course, it can still go out of balance!)

Now you have your results why not read these posts on the traits of Vata, Kapha & Pitta to learn more.

WellnessChris JacksonComment